Ensemble Almara
Early music reinterpreted with enthusiasm and & virtuosity

 

Almara is an early music ensemble

It was founded by Elisabeth Pawelke during her studies at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. The ensemble's musical focus is on the secular repertoire of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance with which the musicians dealt intensively bringing it to life with great enthusiasm and virtuosity. 

The musicians studied at the universities of music in Basle, The Hague and New York, and worked with renowned ensembles and orchestras for early music. 2009 saw the publication of the first CD "OutrosAmores" which has the various aspects of love and veneration in the Middle Ages for a theme, poetically reflected in the medieval compositions. In 2016 the ensemble recorded two pieces from the so-called Schedel Songbook for the Bavarian Administration of Palaces, Gardens and Lakes which since that time can be listened to in the Cadolzburg Historical Museum. The ensemble's new album "Carmina Predulcia" is dedicated to this Songbook and was released by the label Naxos on November 2020.



The Ensemble

Elisabeth Pawelke
Voice, harp

Birgit Muggenthaler-Schmack
Recorders, bagpipes

Sabine Kreutzberger
Viola da gamba, vielle

Sascha Gotowtschikow
Percussion

Christoph Eglhuber
Lutes, salterio



News

New album release on November 27th!

The new album "Carmina Predulcia" by the Ensemble Almara was released on November 27th on the label Naxos. As the first recording this CD is exclusively dedicated to the music from the 15th century Schedel songbook with unique German songs but also French chansons.

Recordings for the new CD

The Ensemble Almara is currently recording a new album with pieces from a songbook from the 15th century, some of which are first recordings. More information will be announced soon.

Album Outros Amores

The album "Outros Amores" takes you into the world of love poetry in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance and interweaves its various aspects into a touching and passionate whole.

Ensemble Almara
Alte Musik mit Spielfreude & Virtuosität neu interpretiert

Almara ist ein Ensemble für Alte Musik. 

Es wurde von Elisabeth Pawelke während ihres Studiums an der Schola Cantorum Basilienis gegründet. Der musikalische Schwerpunkt des Ensembles liegt auf dem weltlichen Repertoire des Mittelalters und der Renaissance, mit dem sich die Musiker intensiv beschäftigten und sie mit großer Spielfreude und Virtuosität zum Leben erwecken.

Die Musiker studierten an den Musikhochschulen in Basel, Den Haag und New York und arbeiteten mit renommierten Ensembles und Orchestern für Alte Musik zusammen.
2009 wurde die erste CD mit dem Titel "Outros Amores" veröffentlicht, die sich thematisch mit den verschiedenen Aspekten der Liebe und Verehrung im Mittelalter befasst, welche sich auf poetische Weise in den mittelalterlichen Kompositionen widerspiegeln. 2016 nahm das Ensemble Stücke aus dem Schedelschen Liederbuch für die Bayerische Schlösserverwaltung auf, die nun im Historischen Museum auf der Cadolzburg zu hören sind. Das neue Album des Ensembles "Carmina Predulcia" ist diesem Liederbuch gewidmet und wurde bei dem Label Naxos im November 2020 veröffentlicht.



Das Ensemble

Elisabeth Pawelke
Gesang, Harfe

Birgit Muggenthaler-Schmack
Flöten, Dudelsack

Sabine Kreutzberger
Gambe, Fidel

Sascha Gotowtschikow
Perkussion

Christoph Eglhuber
Lauten, Salterio


News


Veröffentlichung des neuen Albums am 27.11.2020!

Das neue Album "Carmina Predulcia" des Ensembles Almara wurde am 27. November bei dem Label Naxos veröffentlicht. Als erste Einspielung ist diese CD ausschließlich dem Liederbuch des Hartmann Schedel (15. Jahrhundert) gewidmet. Es enthält sowohl bisher unveröffentlichte deutsche Lieder als auch französische Chansons.

Aufnahmen zur neuen CD

Das Ensemble Almara nimmt derzeit ein neues Album auf mit Stücken aus einem Liederbuch des 15. Jahrhunderts, die teilweise Ersteinspielungen darstellen. Bald werden dazu weitere Informationen bekannt gegeben.

Album Outros Amores

Das Album "Outros Amores" entführt in die Welt der Liebeslyrik in Mittelalter und Renaissance und verwebt ihre verschiedenen Aspekte zu einem berührenden und leidenschaftlichen Ganzen.

Neueste Rezensionen der CD Carmina Predulcia

In der Ausgabe 45:1 des Fanfare Magazine (Sept./Okt. 2021) ist eine schöne Rezension unserer CD von Colin Clarke, in der es heißt:

"This is a superb disc chock-full of music that will surprise and delight, somewhat closely recorded, which only adds to the sense of visceral involvement. Recommended."

 

Außerdem gibt es ein Feedback von Dr. Sebastian Hesse (ARD Radio und TV) zu unserer Musik und insbesondere zur neuen CD: 

"Ich habe beide CDs ganz, ganz oft gehört und finde sie hinreißend. 'Ach scheyden bitter…' habe ich mir wieder und wieder angehört, das wäre mein Favorit. Ich bin auch ganz hingerissen von der Klangqualität der Aufnahme."

 

Und von Ralph Graves/ University of Virginia, WTJU 91.1FM:

"The Ensemble Almara specializes in secular music of the Middle Ages and Renaissance. That makes them perfectly suited to bring this music to life. The five performers use a variety of instruments to vary the sound from track to track. The command of their respective instruments is impressive. Ensemble Almara plays with precision and elan."